Carousel Bayrd is a civil rights attorney and a Partner at Herrick & Kasdorf, where she specializes in tenant’s rights, women’s right’s and employment right’s litigation.  She is also a proud elected official, and she was just reelected to her 12th year on the Dane County Board of Supervisors. On the County Board, she focuses on criminal reform, racial justice, immigrant’s rights, mental health services, and alternatives to incarceration, along with housing and women’s rights, and she has authored or co-sponsored hundreds of pieces of county legislation. Carousel also hosts “A Public Affair” an in-depth current affairs talk-radio show every Tuesday on WORT, Madison’s Community Radio Station.

Representative Terese Berceau was first elected to the Wisconsin Assembly in November 1998. She represents part of the City of Madison and all of the Village of Shorewood Hills. Her district stretches from the shores of Lake Mendota at the University of Wisconsin on the north to the shores of Lake Waubesa on the east.  The 77th Assembly District encompasses much of the University of Wisconsin campus and the University of Wisconsin Arboretum. Before being elected to the Assembly, Berceau served four terms on the Dane County Board of Supervisors (1992-2000), representing the near west side of Madison including Nakoma, Midvale Heights, and Allied Drive. She was Vice Chair of the Board from 1996-1998.

Alder Shiva Bidar is Chief Diversity Officer for UW Health, and Alder for District 5 on the City of Madison Common Council. She is a longtime advocate for equal access to healthcare for underrepresented communities, with 20 years experience developing policy and building partnerships in pursuit of that goal.

Representative Dianne Hesselbein has represented the 79th Assembly District since 2013. She possesses a rich background of public service beginning with her 2005 election to the Middleton Cross Plains Area School District Board of Education. In 2008 she was elected to the Dane County Board of Supervisors and served 3 terms.

Angela Lang is Executive Director of Black Leaders Organizing for Communities (BLOC), a nonprofit working to ensure a high quality of life for Black communities in Wisconsin, and Political Director for For Our Future, a political action committee organizing for progressive values and causes. She has an extensive background in community organizing and is a graduate of Emerge Wisconsin.

Sabrina Madison is Founder & Director of The Progress Center for Black Women, a community center focused on creating opportunity, fostering connection and building value for Black women to transform their lives and families. She is also Creator of Heymiss Progress, a member of the board of directors for the United Way of Dane County, and holds many more roles as an advocate for Black women and families in Dane County.

Ali Muldrow is Director of Youth Programming for GSAFE, an organization that works to create safe environments for LGBTQIA+ youth. As a candidate for the Madison Metro School District Board of Education in 2017, her campaign focused on the achievement gap experienced by students of color, and emphasized the crucial need for a culture of inclusion and intersectionality in K-12 schools.

Tracy Shih Cavnar is a member of the Madison Chapter of NOW and founder of Ascend Education, an education consulting company based in Shanghai. She is a graduate of the Language and Literacy (L&L) program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Representative Lisa Subeck has represented the 78th District in the State Assembly since January, 2015. In the State Legislature, Lisa has been a progressive leader in the State Assembly and currently serves on the Health Committee, Children and Families Committee, Public Benefits Committee, Urban and Local Affairs Committee, and Committee on Family Law. She has been a leader in the fight to strengthen public education, support our universities, protect access to women’s health care, ensure access to health care for all, protect and preserve our environment, and to ensure social and economic justice.

Back to WI NOW State Convention Page